Business awards nominations

Business Awards nomination information. Information can be emailed to the chamber.

Nominations for the 2019 awards, which will be presented in 2020, can be made up to November 30, 2019.


Recipients of the Outstanding Customer Service Award and Business of the Year Award are determined by a judges' panel of three. The panel is appointed by the Business Awards Committee (BAC) of the chamber and are people who are not directors on the chamber's board. The BAC includes two directors from the Niverville Chamber of Commerce and the town councillor who holds the business portfolio.

Note: a recipient of a 2018 award cannot be nominated in the same category for 2019, but can be nominated for another category. Nominees from 2018 can be renominated in 2019.

All nominees are provided with a form so that they can provide background on their business for the judges. 

The following are criteria that judges may consider in naming a recipient. They are provided with scoring sheets that can award up to 100 points based on the nominees' submissions. In the case of the  Outstanding Customer Service Award, up to 25 points can be awarded based on votes and comments from the community.

Outstanding Customer Service
• Knowledgeable staff
• Attentive/focused staff
• Hours of operation meet customer needs
• Inventory levels maintained
• Clean and welcoming environment
• Customer loyalty program
• Innovative diverse product lines

Outstanding Business of the Year

  • Contributes positively to employment in Niverville
  • Sustained growth
  • Demonstrates innovation
  • Positive employee relations/development
  • Good health and safety record
  • Exemplary customer service
  • Active community involvement/support
  • Use of quality improvement programs
  • Contribution to/support of Niverville business community

The Alex Fast Sr Award

The Alex Fast Sr Award is awarded to an individual once. The award may be awarded more than once to a business if the business is purchased by a new owner. The recipient of this award is determined by the Board of Directors of the chamber based on nominations brought forward from chamber or community members. The recipient is announced at the annual meeting.

Alex Fast Sr. Memorial Award for contribution to the community
• Company or individual promotes employee involvement in community activities
• Company or individual supports community functions
• Company or individual donates time and financial support to community
• Company or individual promotes the community to others.